Do you want to make changes to your existing groups, platforms and categories? This article will tell you everything you you have to consider when doing so.
Change the name of groups, platforms or categories
As a user with administrator rights, you can change the names of your groups, platforms, categories and subcategories at any time.
The changes can be made on the respective pages in the platform settings.
Changing the names has no effect on the linked stories. The new name will henceforth be visible in the stories and on the various story planning views. There is no impact on other areas as a result of this adjustment.
Under Settings > Platfroms you can change the order of platforms by dragging and dropping. This affects the order in which the platforms are displayed when selected in the entry mask and on the story pages (when grouped or sorted by platforms/categories).
Similarly, the order of the (sub)categories within a platform can be adjusted in the platform settings by drag&drop, but not the hierarchy: a subcategory cannot simply be changed into a category and vice versa.
Changing the hierarchy: Convert a subcategory into a category or convert a category into a platform, etc.
Such an adjustment requires technical implementation and support from our side (with associated costs) or alternatively a workaround as a temporary solution.
If you are planning to make such a change, please contact us via firstname.lastname@example.org.
Delete platforms or categories
At present, we generally advise against simply deleting platforms or categories.
If a platform or even just a category of a platform is deleted, the entire platform is removed from the linked stories. As a result, it is no longer possible to see afterwards whether a story was planned for this deleted platform.
In addition, stories that were only planned for one platform become unscheduled stories when the platform or category is deleted.
We plan to introduce a function to deactivate platfroms (similar to how tasks or statuses can be deactivated). Until this feature is available, we do not recommend deleting platforms/categories at all.
Alternatively, access rights to these categories/platforms can be revoked for all groups. This will make them disappear from the entry mask as well as from the planning views and they will only be visible to administrators in the settings.
We would be happy to discuss details with you. Simply write to us at email@example.com.
Changes to groups and subgroups
The transformation of subgroups into groups and vice versa is also not directly possible. From our side, such a conversion as well as the migration of all stories assigned to a (sub-)group can be carried out (at a costs). If you are interested, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Deleting (sub-)groups can lead to content being irretrievably lost:
- Stories/events must always be assigned to at least one group or platform. Stories/events that are not assigned to a platform and only to one group get deleted when the associated group is deleted. These entries lose their anchor and cannot be restored.
Created topics can also be lost by deleting a group and cannot be restored.
In addition, deleting groups or subgroups can cause users to lose their access rights:
- When users are created, they must be assigned to at least one group. If a user is assigned to only one group and no further access rights have been granted to this user via the option "Comprehensive access", deleting this group will result in the affected user being deprived of all rights in Desk-Net.